the european stress test for nuclear power plants

Recommendation No. 1: 

Definition of robustness and its levels: 

In adoption of the structure of acceptance criteria of the German Reactor Safety Commission four levels of robustness should be defined.46The first level should define the basic scenario (basic safety) and three levels should define additional safety margins corresponding to the inclining Stress-scenarios. The highest level three defines a state where the plant meets the highest standards of robustness. In order to differentiate between the graded levels of robustness, graded requirements on the redundancy and diversity or well-founded probabilistic elements, should be applied.47

46 See fn. 26; chapter I.3.4 (downloadable document)

47 See chapter I.3.4 (downloadable document)